20 LPN Certifications After Graduation

Posted On January 7,2019

20 LPN Certifications After Graduation

Becoming a licensed practical nurse is an extremely flexible career choice in the world of nursing. Earning LPN certifications in various fields and specialties show you have specific expertise in certain areas. Earning certifications is a great way to increase your skills and knowledge as a nurse.

Start Your PN Process Now


Advantages of earning a specialized LPN certification include:

  • Increases your earning potential
  • Makes you more attractive to potential employers
  • Allows you to work in the healthcare niche you enjoy most
  • Gives you greater mobility within the medical community

Obtaining one or more LPN certifications can create opportunities that you may not have without them. Here is a list of the most popular and in-demand certifications.

1. IV Therapy

IV certification for LPNs allows you to administer IV therapy.

2. Wound Care Certification (WCC)

Wound Care Certification allows an LPN to clean and treat all types of wounds. This is a common certification sought by hospitals and long-term care facilities.

3. Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS)

A certification in pediatric advanced life support allows LPNs to work in pediatric care.

4. Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS)

Practical nurses with advanced cardiac life support certification are trained how to heart-related emergencies and cardiac arrest.

5. Basic Life Support (BLS)

An LPN with a BLS knows how to recognize when a patient is in a life-threatening situation, and how to begin the process of resuscitating and stabilizing the patient. This includes training in CPR and how to use an automated external defibrillator (AED.)

6. Certified Hemodialysis Nurse (CHN)

An LPN certified in hemodialysis work in kidney treatment, also known as nephrology care.

7. Certified Peritoneal Dialysis Nurse (CPDN)

A CPDN is another certification for nurses wanting to work in nephrology. This particular credential allows an LPN to specialize in peritoneal dialysis.

8. Pharmacology (NCP)

Pharmacology certification teaches licensed practical nurses all they need to know about medication assessment and administration, drug classifications, and procedures for medication dosage and intravenous fluid.

9. Gerontology (GC)

Gerontology certification is often obtained by LPNs who specialize in the care of elderly patients.

10. Developmental Disabilities (DDC)

A DDC is reserved for practical nurses who specialize in caring for individuals who have either an intellectual or developmental disability.

11. Long-Term Care (LTC)

Long-term care certification is for LPNs who care for patients in their homes on in health care facilities.

12. Urology (CUA)

Nurses certified in urology can participate in the diagnosis and treatment of issues and illnesses affecting urinary tract issues.

13. Transplant Coordinator (CCTC & CPTC)

There are two certifications that are awarded by The American Board for Transplant Certification. Both recognize an LPNs ability to help coordinate organ transplants between different facilities and assist transplant recipients recovering from surgery.

14. Registered Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist (RCIS)

A practical nurse with a Registered Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist certification can work alongside cardiologists and cardiac surgeons.

15. Case Management (CCM)* – No Longer Valid

Due to changes to credientialing, LPNs are no longer able to obtain their CCM certification. That’s not to say that an LPN can not be a case manager. It is just that the certification is no longer offered for LPNs.

This certification demonstrates understanding of the fundamentals of social work required to work in a healthcare facility.

16. Certified Clinical Research Associate (CRA)

A CRA certification is typically required of nurses who work in clinical research. To obtain the certification, a nurse must learn theory and procedures required to perform successful research.

17. Certified Clinical Research Coordinator (CRC)

A CRC credential is also often required when working in research. This certification proves an LPN has the qualifications necessary for formulating and executing clinical tests and tracking their results.

Download Our Healthcare Programs Guide

18. Certified Correctional Health Professional (CCHP)

Licensed practical nurses with a certified correctional health professional have the training necessary to work in a correctional facility. This includes knowing all proper procedures and techniques for providing healthcare in a correctional setting.

19. Certified Hospice and Palliative Licensed Nurse (CHPLN)

Certified hospice and palliative nurses have the required skills and credentials required to work in end-of-life care.

20. Healthcare Quality (CPHQ)

A certification in healthcare quality shows a nurse is prepared to work in a healthcare management role.

As you can tell, LPNs have a lot of options when it comes to their employment. If any of these career paths appeal to you, it might be time to consider enrolling in a Licensed Practical Nursing Program. While we may not offer these certification programs, we can get you jumpstarted in your career as a Licensed Practical Nurse. Athena Career Academy will help guide you every step of the way, from enrollment to classes and on to your first job. Don’t wait. Contact Athena to discuss your future with one of our admissions counselors today.

Start Your Journey Now